Oswego Campus: 32 West Jefferson St, Oswego, IL 60543      Montgomery Campus: 1111 Reading Drive, Montgomery, IL 60538

Board of Trustees

The Oswego Public Library District is governed by seven elected officials serving four year terms. The Trustees set library policy and represent constituents.

Vernita Hettrich, President vhettrich@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2017
Craig Weber, Vice President cweber@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2017
Aimee Long, Treasurer along@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2015
Terry Tamblyn, Secretary ttamblyn@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2017
Terry Friedman, Trustee tfriedman@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2015
Judy Roberts, Trustee jroberts@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2015
Dana Young, Trustee dyoung@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2015

Comments/suggestions for Trustees may be sent to board@oswego.lib.il.us.

Board Meetings

Board meetings are usually held at 6 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month. Location of regular meetings switch between library buildings. The meetings are open to the public.

Meeting dates for fiscal year ending June 30, 2015:

August 27, 2014 Montgomery Board Room
September 24, 2014 Oswego Lower Level
October 22, 2014 Montgomery Board Room
November 19, 2014 Oswego Lower Level
January 28, 2015 Montgomery Board Room
February 25, 2015 Oswego Lower Level
March 25, 2015 Montgomery Board Room
April 22, 2015 Oswego Lower Level
May 27, 2015 Montgomery Board Room
June 24, 2015 Oswego Lower Level

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Freedom of Information Act

Summary of the Act: What does the Act require?

Under the Freedom of Information Act, public records are presumed to be open and accessible. The principal mandate of the Act provides that "each public body shall make available to any person for inspection or copying all public records."

Sarah Skilton (sskilton@oswego.lib.il.us), Library Director, is responsible for responding to requests. Requests should be sent to her attention at Oswego Public Library District, 32 West Jefferson Street, Oswego, IL, 60543, or sskilton@oswego.lib.il.us. All requests will be responded to within five days after receipt of request; 21 days if the request is for commercial purposes. Fees for copies: first 50 pages are free. The library may charge 15¢ per page after 50 pages.

Open Meetings Act

Summary of the Act: What does the Act require?

It is the public policy of this State that public bodies exist to aid in the conduct of the people’s business and that the people have a right to be informed as to the conduct of their business. In order that the people shall be informed, the General Assembly finds and declares that it is the intent of this Act to ensure that the actions of public bodies be taken openly and that their deliberations be conducted openly.

The General Assembly further declares it to be the public policy of this State that its citizens shall be given advance notice of and the right to attend all meetings at which any business of a public body is discussed or acted upon in any way. Exceptions to the public’s right to attend exist only in those limited circumstances where the General Assembly has specifically determined that the public interest would be clearly endangered or the personal privacy or guaranteed rights of individuals would be clearly in danger of unwarranted invasion.

Total Compensation Package: In compliance with Illinois Public Library Act 97-0609, the Library is providing the total compensation package of all employees who earn over $75,000 in total compensation.  Click here to view the document.

 

 

The Library is Open Today Tuesday, October 21 from 9:00 AM until 9:00 PM