Oswego Campus: 32 West Jefferson St, Oswego, IL 60543      Montgomery Campus: 1111 Reading Drive, Montgomery, IL 60538

Oswego Public Library District

Circulation: (630) 978-1205

Adult Services: (630) 978-1024

Youth Services: (630) 978-1272

Board of Trustees

The Oswego Public Library District is governed by seven elected officials serving four year terms. The Trustees set library policy and represent constituents.

Terry Tamblyn, President ttamblyn@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2021
Terry Friedman, Vice President tfriedman@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2019
Judy Roberts, Treasurer jroberts@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2019
Aimee Long, Secretary along@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2021
Dana Young, Trustee dyoung@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2019
Pete Wallers, Trustee pwallers@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2021
Jim Connon, Trustee jconnon@oswego.lib.il.us Term Expires 4/2019

Comments/suggestions for Trustees may be sent to board@oswego.lib.il.us.

Board Meetings

Board meetings are usually held at 5 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month. Location of regular meetings switch between library buildings. The meetings are open to the public.

Meeting dates for fiscal year ending June 30, 2018:

August 23, 2017 Montgomery Board Room
September 27, 2017 Oswego Meeting Room
October 25, 2017 Montgomery Board Room
November 15, 2017 Oswego Meeting Room
January 24, 2018 Montgomery Board Room
February 28, 2018 Oswego Meeting Room
March 28, 2018 Montgomery Board Room
April 25, 2018 Oswego Meeting Room
May 23, 2018 Montgomery Board Room
June 27, 2018 Oswego Meeting Room

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Freedom of Information Act

Summary of the Act: What does the Act require?

Under the Freedom of Information Act, public records are presumed to be open and accessible. The principal mandate of the Act provides that "each public body shall make available to any person for inspection or copying all public records."

Sarah Skilton (sskilton@oswego.lib.il.us), Library Director, is responsible for responding to requests. Requests should be sent to her attention at Oswego Public Library District, 32 West Jefferson Street, Oswego, IL, 60543, or sskilton@oswego.lib.il.us. All requests will be responded to within five days after receipt of request; 21 days if the request is for commercial purposes. Fees for copies: first 50 pages are free. The library may charge 15¢ per page after 50 pages.

Open Meetings Act

Summary of the Act: What does the Act require?

It is the public policy of this State that public bodies exist to aid in the conduct of the people’s business and that the people have a right to be informed as to the conduct of their business. In order that the people shall be informed, the General Assembly finds and declares that it is the intent of this Act to ensure that the actions of public bodies be taken openly and that their deliberations be conducted openly.

The General Assembly further declares it to be the public policy of this State that its citizens shall be given advance notice of and the right to attend all meetings at which any business of a public body is discussed or acted upon in any way. Exceptions to the public’s right to attend exist only in those limited circumstances where the General Assembly has specifically determined that the public interest would be clearly endangered or the personal privacy or guaranteed rights of individuals would be clearly in danger of unwarranted invasion.

Total Compensation Package: In compliance with Illinois Public Library Act 97-0609, the Library is providing the total compensation package of all employees who earn over $75,000 in total compensation.  Click here to view the document.